Preview: Aberavon v Swansea

Aberavon (2nd) will be looking to build on their opening day win over Llanelli last weekend when they welcome Swansea (6th) to the Talbot Athletic Ground this Saturday in the Indigo Group Premiership Cup, kick-off at 2:30 pm.

Before the cancellation of the 2019-20 season, Swansea were ninth in the Premiership after winning seven of their seventeen games, whilst Aberavon were third after winning eleven of their sixteen games.

The All Whites played one pre-season game as they took on Neath at the Gnoll to commemorate the Welsh All Blacks’ 150th anniversary. Swansea led 14 – 0 at the interval thanks to tries by hooker Owen Thomas and flanker/captain Jay Williams. Outside-half James Davies converted both. Davies extended the visitors lead almost halfway through the second half with a penalty, with Neath scoring two converted tries in the last ten minutes to make the final score 17 – 14 to Swansea.

Swansea got their Premiership Cup campaign underway last weekend with a 5 – 21 loss at Llandovery with all the scoring taking place in the first half. The Drovers were 18 – 0 up before Swansea scored their opening try of the season when hooker Owen Thomas went over from short range after a lineout in the corner.

Looking back at the fixture eight seasons ago, the match was played in the wind and rain. The game was Ian Moore’s 300th game for the Wizards whilst there were club debuts for Rheon James & Tom Duncan who were both on loan from Cornish Pirates. Aberavon’s wing Richard Carter scored the opening try in the corner after 22 minutes of play. However, Swansea’s Cameron Clement kicked two penalties to put the visitors ahead at 6 – 5. A Ceiron Thomas penalty and a Clement miss saw Aberavon lead 8 – 6 at the break and it stayed that way until 11 minutes from time when replacement Jamie Davies placed a penalty. Then, Chris Morgans and Moore took play to the Swansea line and James, though tackled, crashed over from a Morgans pass with Davies converting to make the final score Aberavon 18, Swansea 6.

The Wizards team that day was: Jonathan Phillips; Richard Carter, Richard Thomas (rep Aaron Jones), Rheon James, Stef Andrews; Ceiron Thomas (rep Jamie Davies), Chris Morgans; Rowan Jenkins, Ieuan Davies, Anthony Edwards (rep Andrew Clatworthy), Gavin Ronan, Ian Moore, Ben Thomas, Tom Duncan (rep James Bija), Chris Davies.

The referee for Saturday’s game is Dewi Phillips, aided by Lewis Harrison and Rhodri Morgan.