Match Report: Rams Rugby 38 – 19 Aberavon

Tim Pitfield and Paul Clark

Match Report: Rams Rugby 38 – 19 Aberavon
by Marina Gange

Aberavon began their 2023/2024 campaign preparations with a defeat at Rams RFC in Sonning but Head Coach Jason Hyatt will have taken a lot of positives from the performance of a very young squad ahead of the opening match of the season against Neath on September 2nd.

The hosts, who finished second in National League One last year, showed their strength in depth as they pulled away from The Wizards in the last quarter of the match, running out 38-19 winners.

Aberavon started strongly, demonstrating their scrum prowess by scoring a penalty try early on and returning lock Rhys Thomas also dotted down in the first half taking the Wizards into a 12-7 halftime lead.

Iwan Temblett scored the Wizards’ third try after halftime, and new signing James Davies added the conversion, scoring his first points in red and black.

As the match opened up in the final quarter, the Rams showed their quality, scoring four unanswered tries to secure a well-deserved victory.

The Wizards used all their 27 available players during the course of the match, giving debuts to outside half James Davies, scrum half Aron Hemmings, fullback Scott Delnevo, back rowers Ben Gregory and James Clegg, and hooker Ellis Major.

Aberavon will travel to Ystrad Rhondda next Saturday with an earlier kick-off of 1pm and will follow that with the last pre-season friendly at home against Tata Steel on Bank Holiday weekend.

Rams Rugby 38 – 19 Aberavon

Aberavon Team:
Scott Delnevo; Frankie Jones, Callum Carson, Joe Gage (capt), Morgan Williams; James Davies, Rhodri Cole; Jordan Walters, Luke Davies, Geraint James, Shay Smallman, Rhys Thomas, Ben Gregory, Steff Lewis, Cerith Davies.

Replacements Used:
Bradley Roderick, Sam Jardine, Iwan Temblett, Aron Hemmings, Rowan Jenkins, Rhys Fawcett, Morgan James, Saul Hurley, Ellis Major, Rhodri Hughes, James Clegg, Casey Williams.

Club debuts for Scott Delnevo, James Davies, Ben Gregory, Aron Hemmings, James Clegg, Ellis Major.

Aberavon Scorers:
T – Rhys Thomas, Iwan Temblett, Penalty Try
C – James Davies

Time Line:
08 min: Aberavon – T – Penalty Try (0 – 7)
23 min: Rams – T – Fraser Honey & C – Fraser Honey (7 – 7)
37 min: Aberavon – T – Rhys Thomas (7 – 12)
38 min: Half Time
49 min: Rams – Zach Clow & C – Fraser Honey (14 – 12)
53 min: Aberavon – T – Iwan Temblett & C – James Davies (14 – 19)
56 min: Rams – T – Mike Hoyt & C – Rowan Grundy (21 – 19)
62 min: Rams – T – Zach Clow & C – Rowan Grundy (28 – 19)
75 min: Rams – T – Max Hayman (33 – 19)
79 min: Rams – T – Rowan Grundy (38 – 19)
80 min: Full Time